National Council

Museums Galleries Australia's National Council works on a two-year term from May. Any member of the association is eligible to stand for National Council. 

The term of current National Council is from 2017 to 2019.





Dr Robin Hirst

Simon Elliott


Dr Robin Hirst PSM
‎Director Collections Research and Exhibitions, Museums Victoria
Simon Elliott
Deputy Director, Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art
Carol Cartwright
Margaret Lovell
Contract Project Manager, Canberra

Council Members

Mark Crees


Dr Mark Crees
Araluen Arts Centre

Suzanne Davies
RMIT Gallery

Paul Bowers
Dr Lynda Kelly

Craig Middleton


Debbie Sommers
Craig Middleton
History Trust of South Australia
Debbie Sommers
Port Macquarie Historical Society
Public Officer
Louise Douglas
National Museum of Australia
Alec Coles
ICOM Chair
Western Australian Museum

State Representatives

Rowan Henderson
Canberra Museum and Gallery
Rebecca Pinchin
National Trust
Ilka Schacht
Emma Bain
Redland Art Gallery
Pauline Cockrill
History Trust of SA
Janet Carding
Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Lauren Ellis
Museums Victoria
Soula Veyradier
International Art Space


Constitution & Rules

Museums Australia Inc Constitution (updated 2013)

Rules & Regulations (updated 2013)

MANSW Branch By-Laws (updated 2010)



National Strategic Plan 2014-2016

Museums Australia Corporate Strategic Plan 2014—2016

Our Vision
A strong organisation supporting and sustaining a vibrant museums, galleries and cultural heritage sector, so that Australia’s cultural heritage is valued, enjoyed and protected.